Deutscher Hängegleiterverband e.V.
HomeIContactIImprint
DHV

Safety note

dhvlogo
Date04.06.2016
SubjectSafety notice for paraglider harnesses equipped with Finsterwalder CLICK-LOCK and T-LOCK buckles in the chest strap
 

Click-Lockand T-Lock buckles

In the past three months, there have been two incidents involving older paraglider harnesses equipped with CLICK-LOCK buckles (HSi10) in the chest strap. The buckles had opened unintentionally during flight while they were under load. In one of the cases this happened during a SAT maneuver (spreading of the chest strap due to the pilot resting on the riser), in the other case the reason was presumably the load applied by the body weight of the pilot who was hanging only in the leg straps.

Finsterwalder has conducted a technical investigation and found the following: The hooks of the metal tongue can wear out through the frequent diagonal load changes the chest strap is subject to. This might lead to decreased load capacity and – in the case of sufficiently high diagonal load transmission – the buckle might open unintentionally.
As a consequence of this finding, Finsterwalder has limited the respective buckles’ service time to 4 years if they are used in paraglider chest straps. The harness manufacturers have already been informed accordingly.

To date, there have been no unintentional openings of T-LOCK buckles. However, since their mechanism resembles that of CLICK-LOCK buckles, the problem is likely to be the same.

Finsterwalder calls on all owners of harnesses equipped with CLICK-LOCKs (HSi10) or T-LOCKs in the chest strap to determine their buckles’ previous usage time by checking the routine test date on the sample inspection label. If this date indicates a usage time of more than 4 years, the harness is not airworthy for now and may not be used for flying anymore. Affected owners should contact their harness manufacturer.

The service time limitation applies only to CLICK-LOCK and T-LOCK buckles that are used in paraglider chest straps. When used for applications where only static loads are involved, the CLICK-LOCK and T-LOCK buckles’ service life is 10 years.

The following harness manufacturers have used the mentioned buckles in one or more of their models: Advance, AVA Sport, APCO, Finsterwalder & Charly, KARPO FLY, SKY Paragliders, SkyTrekking, SOL, Woody Valley. Besides the buckles are used in paramotor harnesses of several manufacturers.

Finsterwalder GmbH
Pagodenburgstr.8,
81247 München

 

 
by jursaconsulting logo

Deutscher Hängegleiterverband e.V.
HomeIKontaktIImpressum
DHV

Sicherheitsmitteilung

dhvlogo
Datum04.06.2016
BezugSicherheitsmitteilung für Gleitschirm-Gurtzeuge mit Finsterwalder CLICKLOCK- und T-Lock-Schließen am Brustgurt
 

Click-Lock und T-Lock mit verschiedenen Brustgurt-Streckern

In den letzten 3 Monaten war es bei älteren Gleitschirmgurtzeugen zu zwei Vorfällen mit der am Brustgurt montierten Schließe CLICKLOCK (HSi10) gekommen. Sie hatte sich während des Fluges unter Belastung geöffnet. In einem Fall bei einem SAT-Manöver (Spreizen des Brustgurts durch Abstützen am Tragegurt), im zweiten Fall wahrscheinlich durch die Belastung mit dem Körpergewicht des nur in den Beingurten hängenden Piloten.

Die Fa. Finsterwalder hat bei einer technischen Untersuchung folgendes festgestellt: Die Haken der Metallzunge können sich, bei der permanenten und ständig wechselnder diagonalen Belastung des Brustgurts, abnutzen. Dadurch kann die Haltekraft herabgesetzt werden und, bei entsprechender diagonaler Krafteinleitung, ein selbständiges Öffnen erfolgen.
Als Konsequenz dieses Ergebnisses, hat die Fa. Finsterwalder die Gebrauchsdauer der genannten Schließen auf 4 Jahre begrenzt, sofern sie in Brustgurten verbaut sind. Die Gurtzeug-Hersteller sind bereits entsprechend informiert worden.

Zwar gab es mit dem T-Lock bisher noch keine ungewollten Öffnungen, aber da das Schloss nach demselben Prinzip wie das CLICKLOCK funktioniert, ist auch die Problematik dieselbe.

Die Fa. Finsterwalder fordert alle Halter von Gurtzeugen mit am Brustgurt verbauten CLICKLOCK (HSi 10) und T-Lock-Schließen auf, die bisherige Gebrauchsdauer des Gurtzeuges anhand des Stückprüf-Datums auf der Musterprüfplakette zu checken. Weist dieses Datum eine Gebrauchsdauer von mehr als 4 Jahren auf, darf mit dem Gurtzeug vorerst nicht mehr geflogen werden. Die betroffenen Halter sollen sich in diesem Fall mit dem Hersteller ihres Gurtzeugs in Verbindung setzen.

Die Nutzungsdauerbegrenzung betrifft nur CLICKLOCK oder T-LOCK Schließen die in Gleitschirm-Brustgurten verbaut sind. Bei ausschließlich statischer Belastung ist die Lebensdauer der CLICKLOCK- und T-LOCK-Schließe 10 Jahre.

Folgende Gurtzeug-Hersteller haben die genannten Schließen in einem oder mehreren Modellen verwendet: Advance, Ava-Sports, Apco, Finsterwalder & Charly, Karpofly, Sky Paragliders, Skytrekking, Sol, Woody Valley. Außerdem sind die Schlösser in Paramotor Gurtzeugen verschiedener Hersteller verbaut.

Finsterwalder GmbH
Pagodenburgstr.8,
81247 München

 

 
by jursaconsulting logo