Deutscher Hängegleiterverband e.V.

Safety note

SubjectParaglider harness, Hangglider harness karabiners Finsterwalder GmbH
Investigations by the DHV and the company Finsterwalder GmbH have shown that many paraglider- and hangglider karabiners are not fatigue resistant below the point of actuation by gravity of their catch. Aluminium as well as steel karabiners can be affected.

Harness karabiners with conventional catch fasteners show different fatigue resistance over and below the point of actuation by gravity of their catch. The point of actuation by gravity has not been investigated by the karabiner manufacturers and is subject to an unknown tolerance range.

Endangered above all, are those karabiners, by which the point of actuation by gravity in the fastening catch occurs by a loading (Fk) that is larger than the fatigue strength (Fou) - reduced by 20% - established for the fatigue strength with open catch by the least favourable harness arrangement. By these karabiners, load oscillation tensions can arise on the inner bends of the karabiner, which are greater than the fatigue strength of the material. The reduction of 20% is a result of the safety coefficient of 1.2 with which the fatigue strength must be provided in order to take account of fluctuations in material and finishing. There is no warning before a breakage due to metal fatigue, as pronounced deformation does not occur, and is therefore not recognisable.

A karabiner fastener is "actuated by gravity" when there is no play present in the fastener. Karabiners with catch fasteners exhibit "catch play" from 0.2 mm to 2.5 mm. "Actuation by gravity" first occurs when the catch play is reduced to zero by deformation as a result of loading (Fk).

The point of actuation by gravity Fk can be roughly established by every pilot by testing the size of the load at which the karabiner fastener can still be easily opened.

The DHV has requested the karabiner manufacturers to establish and announce exact values for the fatigue strength Fou by March 1st 2005. This deadline has now been extended to the middle of April.

Endangered karabiners as defined above are not airworthy.

The Finsterwalder GmbH therefore takes the following precautionary safety measure:

It is recommended to use only karabiners whose fatigue resistance has been verified.

Munich, February 2005

Dipl. Ing. Thomas Finsterwalder
Managing director Finsterwalder GmbH

Finsterwalder GmbH, Pagodenburgstr.8, 81247 München, Tel. ++49 (0)89 811 65 28,
Web .

by jursaconsulting logo

Deutscher Hängegleiterverband e.V.
HomeIKontaktIImpressum
DHV

Sicherheitsmitteilung

dhvlogo
Datum10.03.2005
BezugGurtzeug für Gleitsegel, Gurtzeug für Hängegleiter, Karabiner Finsterwalder GmbH
 
Untersuchungen des DHV und der Finsterwalder GmbH haben ergeben, dass viele Drachen- und Gleitschirmkarabiner unterhalb des Kraftschlusspunktes ihres Verschlusses nicht dauerfest sind. Es können sowohl Aluminium- als auch Stahlkarabiner betroffen sein.

Gurtzeugkarabiner mit konventionellem Schnappverschluss weisen unterhalb und oberhalb des Kraftschlusspunktes ihres Verschlusses unterschiedliche Dauerfestigkeiten auf. Der Kraftschlusspunkt wurde bisher von den Karabinerherstellern nicht überprüft und unterliegt einer unbekannten Toleranzbreite.

Gefährdet sind vor allem die Karabiner, bei denen der Kraftschluss im Verschlussschnapper bei einer Belastung (Fk) eintritt, die größer ist als die um 20% verminderte Dauerfestigkeit (Fou) des Karabiners, welche mit offenem Schnapper in der für die Dauerfestigkeit ungünstigsten Gurtanordnung ermittelt wurde. Bei diesen Karabinern können Zugwechselspannungen an der Innenseite des Karabiners auftreten, die größer als die Ermüdungsfestigkeit des Werkstoffes sind. Die Verminderung um 20% ergibt sich hierbei aus einem Sicherheitsbeiwert von 1,2 mit dem die Dauerfestigkeit mindestens versehen werden muss, damit Material- und Fertigungsschwankungen berücksichtigt werden. Ein Ermüdungsbruch kündigt sich nicht durch große Verformungen an und ist deshalb nicht erkennbar.

Ein Karabinerverschluss ist "kraftschlüssig" wenn kein Spiel im Verschluss vorhanden ist. Karabiner mit Schnappverschluss weisen ein "Schnapperspiel" von 0,2 bis 2,5 mm auf. Erst wenn dieses durch Verformung infolge einer Belastung (Fk) aufgezehrt ist, tritt "Kraftschluss" ein.

Der Kraftschlusspunkt Fk kann vom Piloten ungefähr ermittelt werden indem er überprüft, bis zu welcher Last sich der Verschluss seines Karabiners noch leicht öffnen lässt.

Der DHV hat die Karabinerhersteller aufgefordert bis 1.März 2005 genaue Werte der Dauerfestigkeit Fou zu ermitteln und bekannt zu geben. Dieser Termin wurde nunmehr auf Mitte April 2005 verlängert.

Gefährdete Karabiner nach obiger Definition dürfen dann nicht mehr verwendet werden.

Die Finsterwalder GmbH trifft daher vorsorglich folgende Sicherheitsmaßnahme:

Es wird empfohlen, nur noch Karabiner zu verwenden, deren Dauerfestigkeit nachgewiesen ist.
Diese Sicherheitsmitteilung tritt mit Veröffentlichung in den Nachrichten für Gleitsegel- und Hängegleiterführer (NfGH) in Kraft.

München, Februar 2005

Dipl. Ing. Thomas Finsterwalder
Geschäftsführer Finsterwalder GmbH

Finsterwalder GmbH, Pagodenburgstr.8, 81247 München, Tel. ++49 (0)89 811 65 28,
Web www.finsterwalder-charly.de .

 
by jursaconsulting logo